St Helena Airport

Main content

Dangerous Goods on aircraft

The International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) defines Dangerous Goods as “Articles or substances which are capable of posing a risk to health, safety, property or the environment”.  Dangerous Goods (DGRs) can be transported by air as long as they adhere to strict rules and procedures which include the way they are packaged, labelled, handled, stored and shipped.

The International Air Transport Association (IATA) has also issued guidance on the transportation of DGRs by air and how they are handled.

There are nine classes of Dangerous Goods as follows.  If you wish to transport DGRs through St Helena Airport, please contact your shipping agent for more details.  Dangerous Goods are strictly controlled and are subject to rigorous inspection by security and cargo staff.

  • Class 1 – Explosives
  • Class 2 – Gases
  • Class 3 – Flammable Liquids
  • Class 4 – Flammable Solids
  • Class 5 – Oxidizing Substances
  • Class 6 – Toxic and Infectious Substances
  • Class 7 – Radioactive Material
  • Class 8 – Corrosives
  • Class 9 – Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods

IATA "Have you declared it?" poster relating to the transporation of dangerous goods by air

Close Search